This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Mali

Mali is made up of 9 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Mali. Information on all primary administrative regions in Mali.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Mali alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Mali

There are 9 regions in Mali in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Mali
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Bamako Bamako Region1.971,351Bamako Bamako1,297,281
Gao Gao Region2.544,120Gao Gao87,000
Kayes Kayes Region3.1,996,812Kayes Kayes78,406
Kidal Kidal Region4.67,638Kidal Kidal11,643
Koulikoro Koulikoro Region5.2,418,305Koulikoro Koulikoro23,919
Mopti Mopti Region6.2,037,330Mopti Mopti108,456
Segou Ségou Region7.2,336,255Segou Ségou92,552
Sikasso Sikasso Region8.2,625,919Sikasso Sikasso144,786
Tombouctou Tombouctou Region9.681,691Timbuktu Timbuktu32,460